NaNoWriMo Day 30: Crossing the Finish Line

I did it!!!! Again!!! I can’t believe it!!! Although, NaNoWriMo, I miss you already. What started out as a crazy idea because I didn’t get to do the module I wanted to do… And found I had too much “free time”… has actually become a quite life changing event. I did this the second time in a row now. I promised myself that I wouldn’t do Nano again for some years. Yet, I couldn’t stop myself from it. Why? Probably because I love writing so much.

On day 24 I watched a video in life’s purpose. There were five questions asked. What was my personal outcome? I want to be a writer to encourage people to take care of their environment, to inspire them and to make science understandable, interesting, exciting. I never put that much effort in my writing projects. I saw it as just another hobby, like the art I was creating. Now I found out that this stuff makes me really happy. I love to write! I love to sit down every evening before bed and type some words into my computer. I love to think about what I could write about. Talk to people. Do research. It was so amazing!

It was hard, of course. I had three days when I really didn’t know what to write at all. So I wrote bad poems and copied good ones. That’s how you move along. Now, I feel some sort of relief but also sadness. It’s over again. November is over.

My body is telling me how happy it is. Sleep! Something I haven’t had properly in thirty days! My brain shouts: Yes, you finally got to do all the uni work you wanted to do! One weird thing is, that I invested more time than ever into uni, this past month. I read more books in November than in any other month in 2016. Clearly, if I have less time, I do more. Seems counterintuitive? welcome to my brain.

Here are all the things I learned during this challenge, this project, this sign of my wonderful weirdness:

  • To properly write an English text a day. Last year, I wrote in German. This year I noticed how much better my expression got and how much I have improved since. That’s nice to know. Practising really helps.

  • To trust in my instincts and thoughts. If the slightest trace of an idea pops up in my head, I know. I have to write about this. Then I sit down and write. Until it is finished.

  • I’m extremely well organised. Otherwise I couldn’t have done this project with all the other things going on in my life. It was challenging to balance but it was possible. I’m alive and better than ever. I can get stuff done.

  • Lots about the environment. I watched so many documentaries and read so many articles for this projects. I learned about climate change, water scarcity, food waste, plastics in the oceans. The list goes on and on. I used my lecture notes to write these articles and therefore I have to study less in the exam phase!

  • To read more carefully. To read more books from all over the world, to compare them with each other. To look for stylistic choices I can implement in my own writing. To be more open.

NaNoWriMo Statistics:

screen-shot-2016-11-30-at-09-20-10screen-shot-2016-11-30-at-09-19-58

Total Words Written: 50625
Cups of tea: 3 x 30 = 90 three a day when writing? Seems about right.
Characters killed: still none. We are writing non-fiction here, people.
Ted Talks watched as inspiration: Let me count… 10 mentioned in my texts, maybe a good ten more. = 20.

What now?

Sleeeeeep! Drawing. Reading. Yoga, every day. My back is terribly tight. Studying Swedish. Doing stuff for uni. A little bit of relaxation.

What about writing? Last year I fell into a pit of apathy after NaNoWriMo. I had written something that will never reach the daylight. It will always rest on my computer. Locked from the world. Someone said that you have to get the bad writing out of you and then you can properly start to write. Those first 50000 words, they were very bad. Now I am a little better. In a year, I will re-read these text and cringe all over. Why? Because we develop our skills. Gradually working on them day by day. That’s good!

I love Isabel Allende. She said that she could never write a book as “House of the Spirits” because it was so innocent. It was not planned at all. She got so many things wrong. That’s no problem, though, because it is a brilliant book. She has written other beautiful novels, one of which I am listening to right now: Island Beneath the Sea. It’s wonderful! Don’t stop, keep going.

I have to go on. I shouldn’t stop now that I know how to write 1666 words a day. Now that I’m in the flow. This is why I’m going to set myself a daily goal to write. All that is on my mind. Probably one day, I’ll get a story out of it. Let’s say at least 300 words. That’s really not that much. I need a goal, though. Without one, procrastination hits. After a project like this, it has the capability of hitting hard. I have to keep going, chasing my dreams.

I am deeply grateful for all your support. I would like to thank my mum who always threw a spontaneous party when I sent her my new word count. My dad who said how much better I have got in my writing and that he sees that writing is clearly my passion. My friends who I watched so many environmental documentaries with: Hannah and Lilli who are such a lovely, caring friends I am so happy to have. My friend Izzy who I always went on runs with while talking about the Ted Talks we watched. Inspiring us endlessly and giving me something to write about. My friends back home who thought it a little weird that I started writing again- you gave me an extra challenge. You are amazing and I’m a very lucky girl to have you all as friends.

And would love to thank you who commented on my articles and kept me going. Thank you so much for your support!

https://lingeringvisions.wordpress.com/
https://sanseilife.wordpress.com/
https://dailymusing57.com/
https://kyleoverstreet.wordpress.com/

Now, I have a little surprise for you. I will do the Advent Calendar again this year! You get a little drawing a day!

Lots of love and happy last day of November

Verena

Current Word Count: 50 625 Partyyyyy!!!!

One thought on “NaNoWriMo Day 30: Crossing the Finish Line

Leave a Reply

