I am a Feminist.

I am a feminist. It is a troublesome word. I do not hate men. I am not offended if a man opens the door for me. I wear make-up. It is not about all of those things.

I believe in the equality of men and women. It’s as simple as that.

I believe that women and men should have equal opportunities. I believe that people should be paid equal money for equal work regardless of gender. I believe that women and men both should be allowed to do with their bodies whatever they like as long as it does not harm to others. I will turn very angry when being catcalled and I have absolutely no understanding of that.

Feminism is sometimes described as a type of glasses. If you dive a little into the topic, you will spot sexism everywhere. Sometimes you have to put these glasses down because it gets a little overwhelming. I am not that kind of woman who says that everything is sexist. I live in Germany, a country with relatively good emancipation and with quite good equality between men and women. But we are not there yet! We have not reached equality, nowhere on this earth! This is why it takes a movement like feminism to change it.

Many people have attempted to change the word. Because of its associations. However, I am of the opinion that we should keep the word. It’s an established thing, why change it? As long as people fight for equality, why fight about the word?

  1. I want girls to have the best education they can possibly have – not set by their gender. Malala Yousafzai is a huge advocate for girl’s and children’s rights and I have the deepest respect and admiration for her which is also the reason I drew her for this post.
  2. I want to see more world leaders who are women, I want to see more women in higher jobs because they handle problems differently and this is a huge advantage. They should be there not because of quotas, but because of intelligence and capability.
  3. I want men and women to work together in all kinds of jobs, adding up knowledge to make the world a better place.
  4. I want to see no more little girls who want to be engineers and are held back by their families because they are girls. We lose so much, not allowing them to work on their dreams!

This list is so insufficient, but please tell me if you identify as a feminist or not and why. What are your goals for the world? How is the equality of men and women in your country? Which are the most important problems we should be dealing with now? And how?

I read a few books in the last weeks which really inspired me and made me like the fact that I am a woman.

I would like to recommend:

“The Color Purple” which is obviously a really basic read for aspiring feminists, if you want to say it like that. Read it.

“Half of a Yellow Sun” and “Americanah” by Chimamanda Ngozie Adichie. I have no words to describe how much I adore this woman. She did an amazing Ted Talk (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hg3umXU_qWc) on the topic of feminism which inspired me a lot and made me realise so many things. Her writing is both gentle and honest, but can have a cruel narrative, showing the horrors of this world. They are worth reading. They really are.

“How to be a Woman” by Caitlin Moran. This one is really really great. It answers so many questions and it gives an insight on how a female brain works. Not that I didn’t know that. It makes me feel less of a freak. She did write about that topic quite brilliantly.

img_20160908_163842

One last resource I would like to offer you: Emma Watson has a book club in which some of the books I read are discussed. I especially enjoyed a conversation between her and Gloria Steinem. You can watch it here, it is fabulous.

Feminism is a HUGE topic and I will be talking about it more often now. There are many issues that interest me. Feminism and Sustainable Development, Feminism and the Media… Lots more to come. If you have any suggestions, please share them and I will talk about them.

Xxx

Verena

Leave a Reply

