Work in Progress

It’s been so long since I last posted anything and it’s because I’ve not been really good with portraits lately. Drawing yesterday completely messed up something I’ve been working on… So I got my graphic tablet out today and started some Easter cards. Here’s a little glimpse on what I’ve been working this whole evening. It takes sooo long!!!

I drew with Hannah yesterday and when I didn’t want to draw a portrait, I challenged her to give me words that I would have to draw. It was so fun! Drawing little characters and animals it got weirder and weirder… Character development is something I always wanted to master but never laid the focus on. However, my big dream is to illustrate a children’s book someday. I know it sounds unrealistic but maybe we need those sometimes.

Also: I passed Maths πŸ˜‰ All the panic for nothing… Only one exam left and an essay for philosophy that I nearly finished today.

Screen Shot 2016-03-12 at 21.09.48

7 thoughts on “Work in Progress

  1. That looks absolutely beautiful so far – I will look forward to seeing the completed piece. And many congratulations on the Maths! πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you Jacob, that means so much to me as you are creating such stunning digital art. Do you have any tips for an absolute beginner? This is my third ever digital work I guess, so I have a lot to learn haha πŸ™‚

      thank you I was so relieved xD

      1. Oh thanks so much! I’m working a little differently to you (and indeed most digital artists, from what I can see): I tend to call mine digital drawings because I only render shades in grey, as if I were using pencil, and then optionally layer colour over the top, using Photoshop blending magic. I’m actually pretty darn poor at painting (manual or digital!); I think you’re way ahead of me on that score!

        To perfect composition and proportion, particularly with regards portraiture, I did a heck of a lot of tracing in the beginning alongside studies and consulting tutorial books. It was amazing how much the tracing seemed to help.

        I use quite low opacity/flow rates (generally around 20%), when rendering, to allow for greater range, but I realise this might not work as well with a painterly approach.

        The brush settings panel is worth fiddling with to achieve a unique finish. And different brush sets, too; I actually created a set of my own brushes, but there are plenty floating around online. I like http://mawgallery.deviantart.com/art/PENCIL-BOX-2-203958605 – pencil effect. I find these very useful indeed.

        That’s pretty much where my secrets end. Other than that I can only suggest the same as I would to any budding artist – timed exercises, shading/colour run practice, sketching, tutorials online/books… so sorry if I’ve just rambled and not been any help whatsoever! Feel free to ask if you’ve anything in particular that you were after.

      2. Oh it was really helpful, thank you so much! And I don’t think you are poor at it, come on! I love your pictures!!!
        For me it’s just try and error at the moment and I implement my painting techniques from traditional art and see if it works.
        I’ll take a look at some tutorials, that’s a good idea as I’m not very good in proportions normally. And also I’ll keep experimenting with different brushes. It was quite fun to draw the grass in the foreground with that special brush photoshop provides but else I will just use the circular one. Time to try some new things!
        I’ll paint a bit tonight and keep you updated πŸ˜‰

        Thanks again for your lovely advice!! Much appreciated! xx

      3. That’s a good foundation; I think you can definitely transplant traditional techniques into the digital. Besides YouTube, this is quite a popular site for tutorials: http://www.ctrlpaint.com/

        Thanks again for your lovely comments, and I’m glad to have been of some help. I look forward to seeing what you come up with!

  2. Such gorgeous art Verena. I just love it! Can’t wait to see what it looks like when it’s finished. You are such a great artist. πŸ˜€ β™₯

Leave a Reply

